Review: Fairydrops Platinum Mascara Waterproof Type

Makeup Review time!!! 😀

Today, I will be featuring my Fairydrops Platinum Mascara Waterproof Type. I got this product in my BDJ Box Elite: Girls Night Out. This mascara is actually one of the reasons why I got enticed to get my first BDJ Box Elite. 😉

Product Description (taken from the Fairydrops Philippines Facebook page):

A volumizing, waterproof mascara with a brush so unique it is patented in Japan and USA. It contains Volume Up Powder, Wax and Fiber and contains 5 kinds of treatment essence to beautify and repair eyelashes.

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type2

This brand of mascara has its famous patented three teardrop wand which can effectively catch even the tiniest lashes that you have. Well, yes, it did catch all of my lashes. 😀

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type3

This mascara has been awarded the Best Mascara in the 2013 Marie Claire Beauty Awards. 😀

1146158_368862143242155_951435632_o

(picture taken from the Fairydrops Philippines Facebook page)

Let’s put this product to the test.

Here are my bare lashes.

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - bare lashes

I normally use an eyelash curler when I apply mascara. However, in this product test, I did not curl my lashes. That is why you may notice some of the lashes are pointed downwards.

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - bare lashes2

After applying the Fairydrops Platinum Mascara Waterproof Type to my lashes, it did give that volumizing effect into my lashes. I also like the fact that this mascara has five kinds of treatment essence in it and it is smudge-proof. However, if you put too much, it clumps so better make your brow spoolie or eyebrow comb ready just in case.

For removing this mascara, I would recommend you to use a good cleansing oil.

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - with mascara

I did not curl my lashes yet it seemed like I did. 😀

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - with mascara2

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - with mascara3

The pictures below are close side-by-side comparison of my bare lashes and my lashes with the product.

The upper set of eyes are just my bare lashes while the lower set of eyes are my lashes with the Fairydrops Platinum Mascara Waterproof Type.

COMPARISON 1:

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - comparison

COMPARISON 2:

You will notice that it did curl my lashes even without the use of an eyelash curler. However, after some time, the lashes slightly droop down. Also, the curl is just noticeable when you look at the lashes on the side part. This is why I still prefer to use my eyelash curler before putting on this mascara. It works on me better when it has been curled prior to using the product.

fairydrops platinum mascara waterproof type review - comparison2

This mascara is priced at Php1,195 and available at all Beauty Bar store outlets. Click on this link for the branch nearest you.

LIKES:

  • waterproof
  • does not smudge
  • volumizing
  • has five kinds of treatment essence
  • The mascara wand catches all of my lashes.
  • can be easily removed with a cleansing oil

NEUTRAL TAKE:

  • I still prefer to use my eyelash curler before putting on this mascara.

DISLIKES:

  • can clump if you put too much
  • quite pricey

By the way, here is the story of how the Fairydrops mascara has started (picture and story taken from the Fairydrops Philippines Facebook page).

Aya Yasuda, the founder and CEO of Fairydrops Mascara was an anchorwoman at the Major League Baseball on a local TV station in Los Angeles. She always longed to have the big, photogenic eyes her co-workers seemed to possess. She often wondered what it was specifically that caused the difference, especially on camera. One day Aya realized it was the long, upward slopping eyelashes that some newscasters had. From that day on, she started experimenting , cutting application brushes into all sorts of shapes and sizes, testing each brush to see which shape made her eyes look the biggest on TV. 

After months of research and experimenting, the 3-teardrop wand was born. The wand caught and lifted even the shortest eyelashes, giving her the big , photogenic eyes that she dreamed of for so long. The results were remarkable, Aya knew she had to share the 3-teardrop wand with other women back in Japan. She started her own company, AYA INC. in Tokyo. Now Fairydrops Mascara is sold not only in Japan but also throughout Asia and is one of the most popular mascaras in the Asia region.

622539_212080672253637_2101060777_o

Leave a Reply

