My First Makeup Workshop Experience at Beauty Crafts by Kiran

August 28, 2013 – I attended my first ever makeup workshop. Yey! πŸ˜€ In this post, I am going to share with you my experience during that day.

How was I able to attend this workshop? My friend, Myra, saw an online deal in Groupon about a five-hour Basic Makeup 101 class. The trainer is Ms. Kimberly Ann S. Chua (also known as “Kiran”). At first, there were four of us who are interested on attending this workshop. In the end, I was the only one who pursued on taking the said deal. The original price of the class is Php2,500. In the Groupon online deal, the offer is only Php875. With this, I was able to save Php1,625. Good deal, isn’t it? πŸ˜€

Why did I attend a makeup workshop? I watch lots of makeup tutorial videos over the Internet. With that, I could already learn how to apply makeup. But of course, when you are already putting on makeup, no one would tell you if you’re doing it right or wrong. That is what I am after in a makeup class. Someone would notice if I am doing a good job or not. Also, someone would make me know in which aspects of makeup application should I need to improve on.

This is a five-hour makeup class that starts from 1pm and ends at 6pm. I arrived 15 minutes before 1pm. Also, I was the first one who came. With that, I decided to take pictures of the venue while waiting for the workshop to start.

The class took place at Unit 1603 Cityland Herrera Tower Valero St. Salcedo Village, Makati City.Β There is a logo placed on the door of the unit. In case you are interested to give this makeup class a try, you could easily determine their unit through this displayed logo. πŸ™‚

beauty crafts by kiran door logo

Here is a closeup shot of the Beauty Crafts by Kiran logo on the door of their unit.

beauty crafts by kiran logo

Upon entering the unit, you would see the guest area.

beauty crafts by kiran guest area

Here are the certificates of Ms. Kim displayed on the right side of the wall when you enter the unit. This proves her skills in her chosen field of expertise. πŸ™‚

ms.kim's certificates

Certificate from Maquillage Professionel (supported by Makeup For Ever Paris):

ms.kim's certificate1

Certificate from David’s Salon Academy:

ms.kim's certificate2

When you turn right, you would see the prepared chairs, tables and makeup tools that would be used for the class. You see that black and white bag in the farthest seat in this picture? That’s mine. That is my chosen seat. Haha! πŸ˜€

makeup class setup

These are the makeup tools, with a single-page handout, which will be used during the class. I noticed that the brushes provided were not cleaned before the class. This is not really a problem for me. I don’t mind if they weren’t clean as long as they are not disturbingly dirty. For some with sensitive skin, you might prefer to bring your own set of makeup brushes. I have some classmates, in this workshop, who brought their own makeup brush set.

makeup workshop tools and handout

Face Brushes

face brushes

Eye and Lip Brushes

eye and lip brushes

No worries for the powder puff and blending sponge. They are new. Under the powder puff and blending sponge is the mixing palette. This is where the small amounts of makeup primer, foundation, eye primer and loose powder will be placed when the students are already on the hands-on part of the workshop.

other makeup tools

Here is the handout provided during the workshop.

makeup workshop handout

Closeup shots:

makeup workshop handout1

makeup workshop handout2

makeup workshop handout3

makeup workshop handout4

makeup workshop handout5

makeup workshop handout6

I also noticed that the classroom has a simple “Christmas vibe” in it already. πŸ˜€

makeup class setup christmas decors

Here are the prices of each makeup workshop in Beauty Crafts by Kiran. I attended the Personal Basic Makeup (August 28). See? The makeup workshop I attended is really priced at Php2,500. The Php875 offer is already a good deal. πŸ˜€

beauty crafts by kiran makeup classes

By the way, the girl in the picture below, that’s me!!! πŸ˜€ That’s how I look when I went to my makeup class. Of course, before leaving the house, I toned and moisturized. Then, I applied a little bit of eyebrow makeup just to fill in some sparse areas on my brows. For the lips, I just put on some lip balm. That’s it! I am going to a makeup class anyway so I decided not to put on makeup anymore.

look before the workshop

look before the workshop2

We started our class at 1:34pm. I guess the first thirty hours is just a time buffer to wait for the other students. We were supposed to be seven in our class. However, the other one just rescheduled her class so there were only six of us.

time the workshop started

Here is Ms. Kim discussing about basic makeup application.

ms. kim discussing about makeup

TOPICS INCLUDED:

  • use of primer, correctors, foundation, concealer and loose powder
  • how to get your correct foundation shade (No hand swatching!!! The correct way is to apply foundation on the jaw down to your neck. It is a good match if the foundation blended well on your skin.)
  • uses of the different makeup brushes
  • base application
  • contour, highlight, blush
  • eyebrow makeup (finding your natural arch)
  • eyeshadow techniques (day (2-3 colors) and smoky (1 color) eye makeup)
  • false lashes application
  • lip makeup

Here is Ms. Kim starting on her makeup demo.

ms. kim starting the demo

ms. kim starting the demo2

After the demo, the remaining time of the workshop is for the hands-on part. Ms. Kim told us to wash our faces even if we did not apply makeup. During the hands-on, LJ (Ms. Kim’s model) assisted us along the way.

Here is my work. I just had a simple day makeup look. πŸ˜€

look after the workshop2

look after the workshop

before and after

When we were already done applying our makeup, we had our group and solo pictorial and Ms. Kim checked our work. It’s just like a teacher evaluating her students.

MS. KIM’S REMARKS ON MY WORK:

  1. The foundation is good. It has been flawlessly blended on my skin.
  2. I need to practice on my eyebrows. She advised eyebrow threading for me since I just followed the natural shape of my eyebrows when I applied eyebrow makeup.
  3. I need to practice on lining my eyes. The eyeliner looks good when my eyes are opened. However, when I close them, the crooked lines are obvious.
  4. Eyeshadow is okay.
  5. Contouring on the cheeks is not much visible. I need to practice that as well.
  6. Contouring on the nose is okay.
  7. Mascara is okay. Ms. Kim noticed that I also placed mascara on my lower lashes, which is another good point for me. That’s optional, by the way.
  8. Ms. Kim likes the lipstick color that I chose.

Finally, my certificate!!! Yey!!! I am soooo happy!!! πŸ˜€

makeup workshop certificate

If I get to love makeup more, I might pursue being a freelance makeup artist, like Ms. Kim, someday. πŸ˜€ Oh, I really hope I can have the chance to become one. πŸ˜€

Before the class ended, I asked Ms. Kim if I could have a picture with her. She immediately agreed. Thanks Ms. Kim! πŸ˜€

with ms.kim

You might be wondering why she has a red “sort-of” spot in the middle of her eyebrows. She actually attended a blessing of one of her spa branches before heading to our class. They had an Indian blessing and all of them were given that red thing, which I don’t really know what it is called.

After the makeup class, my husband was already waiting for me outside the building. We had our dinner first before going home. πŸ˜€

While waiting for our food to be served, we took some pictures.Β β™₯β™₯β™₯

my husband and i

my husband and i2

By the way, Ms. Kim told us that she would upload our pictures during the workshop in her Facebook page: Beauty Crafts by Kiran “Kim” (Hair and Makeup Artist). If she already uploaded the pictures of our class, I will have another post on them. I will also include our group pictures so you can also see my other classmates. πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “My First Makeup Workshop Experience at Beauty Crafts by Kiran

  1. Hello, The Pink Blush! Thanks for sharing your Makeup Workshop experience! I was wondering if you still needed to bring your own makeup or Kiran sells her cosmetics there and the participants can buy? I’ve been trying to look for reviews about BCK Cosmetics but couldn’t find any. Thanks much! -Misty

Leave a Reply

