Review: Etude House Lip & Eye Remover

Those who are into makeup should equally be interested in skincare products. Famous beauty experts and bloggers always reiterate the importance of cleansing. At the end of the day, no matter how tired you are, you should NEVER ever forget to remove your makeup. Skin cleansing should have the same effort as putting on your makeup.

So, for my first skincare review post, I will be featuring the Etude House Lip & Eye Remover.

Product Description (printed on the product):

Gentle, yet highly effective, this double formulated lip & eye remover easily and instantly dissolves all traces of make-up for a soothing and moisturizing effect on the sensitive eye & lip area without any irritation.

Product Description (taken from the Etude House website):

Alcohol-free, ph balanced remover preserves sensitive areas around the eyes and lips during makeup removal.

(front)

etude house lip & eye remover

etude house lip & eye remover product description

(back)

etude house lip & eye remover2

I was actually interested in buying a cleansing oil in Etude House. I read from several beauty blogs that their cleansing oil is really good. It is just a bit expensive so when the saleslady said that this lip & eye remover could also be used in the face, I decided to get this one. I bought this for Php198.

How to use:

  1. Shake the bottle well until the colorless liquid is mixed with the blue liquid (sorry, I’m not really sure what those two liquids are actually called :P).
  2. Put some of the makeup remover in a piece of cotton or tissue.
  3. Apply it on your face to remove your makeup.

PRODUCT TEST:

This is my arm with lip and eye makeup on it.

etude house lip & eye remover test

I took a piece of cotton with the makeup remover in it. One swipe of the Etude House Lip & Eye Remover

etude house lip & eye remover test2

… additional two swipes…

etude house lip & eye remover test3

… and rubbed the makeup remover all the way… Look! It really did remove all the makeup! 😀

etude house lip & eye remover test4

Note in this makeup remover test: I filled my piece of cotton with the makeup remover. Also, I did some heavy rubbing to remove the makeup (that is why there is a red streak right there in my arm).

However, this is not the case when you are removing your actual makeup. If you are removing your makeup, you have to make sure that you are doing it with a light hand particularly in your eyes. Why? According to Ms. Barbi Chan of BDJ Box, excessive rubbing could cause premature wrinkles to appear in your eyes and falling off of your eyelashes.

Based on my experience, when I use this makeup remover, it could easily remove my face and lip makeup. For the eye makeup, it could easily remove my waterproof mascara. However, when I try to remove my eyeshadow, there are still traces of the makeup particularly if it has shimmers or it has been used as a definer (or as eyeliner). I haven’t tried this on an actual eyeliner yet so I cannot say if this product does remove it completely or not.

In addition to that, I don’t fill my cotton with this makeup remover. I put just the right amount that I will use for my eyes. This is because if I put too much of the product, my vision tends to go blurry. It becomes uncomfortable to open my eyes.

As a positive point, this makeup remover is really gentle on the skin. No sting effect and dry feeling. 😀

LIKES:

  • It’s really gentle.
  • could easily remove face and lip makeup
  • could easily remove waterproof mascara

DISLIKES:

  • could not totally remove eyeshadow makeup
  • tends to give a blurry vision if there is too much product in the cotton

I am not totally disappointed with this makeup remover. In fact, I got amazed when it could easily remove my waterproof mascara. However, if I will put on eyeliner or eyeshadow makeup, this would not be my first choice of makeup remover. Hmmm… I think I should get the cleansing oil next time. 😀

By the way, here is the video of Ms. Barbi Chan showing how to gently remove your eye makeup. ‘Til my next post! 😀

2 thoughts on “Review: Etude House Lip & Eye Remover

Leave a Reply

